• Picture: Woman using a PDA
  • Picture: Four business people looking at camera
  • Picture: Woman typing on computer
  • Picture: Person looking at computer screen
  • Picture: Woman looking at large glass bottle with liquid inside
  • Picture: Four adults working and teaching
  • Picture: Earth Globe in Hands
  • Picture: Woman on Phone
  • Picture: Woman working on pocket computer
  • Picture: Business woman laughing
  • Picture: Four business people in composite photo
  • Picture: Six women in composite photo
  • Picture: Woman with test tubes



National Alliance for Partnerships in Equity Education Foundation
91 Old Newport Pike, Suite 302
Gap, PA 17527
Phone: 717-407-5118
Email: NAPE@napequity.org
Funded by the National Science
Foundation HRD-0734056 and HRD-1203121
Upcoming Events Title

For more events go to the STEM Equity Pipeline Calendar


Past Events Title

June 16, 18, and 20, 2014

STEM Equity Pipeline Virtual Book Club
Whistling Vivaldi: How Stereotypes Affect Us and What We Can Do

      (Show More Information...)

Monday, June 16, 2014: 3PM ET, 2PM CT, 1PM MT, 12PM PT
Wednesday, June 18, 2014: 12 PM ET, 11AM CT, 10AM MT, 9AM PT
Friday, June 20, 2014: 1PM ET, 12PM CT, 11AM MT, 10AM PT

Sessions limited to 15 people. Register for one of the three sessions. Buy your own book. Connect with your computer and phone.
www.napequity.org/bookclub

Have you wanted to read Whistling Vivaldi by Claude Steele but haven't had time? Have you read the book and want to discuss how to use some of the strategies in your own school or community?

Join us! Grab a cup of coffee or tea, connect with your computer to see the PowerPoint presentation, and call on your phone for audio. Take this opportunity to chat with others around the country on what the book means and how to use it to address race and racism.

GOALS

  • Understand key concepts of "social identity" and "stereotype threat."
  • Explore the research on stereotype threats and what it means for educators and CTE programs.
  • Share strategies that you can use in your classroom, school, or community that can "inoculate" students against stereotype threat.

FACILITATOR

Courtney Reed Jenkins is a nationally recognized expert on equity in education and has more than 20 years' experience working in the public and community-based sectors on equity issues. She has facilitated more than 100 trainings regarding equity in education, written legal decisions regarding special education, and published articles in the areas of racial and gender equity. She sits on several national and state boards and committees that focus on equity in education. Courtney has a Juris Doctor, magna cum laude, from the University of Iowa. Her career includes program administration for a women's resource and action center, a domestic violence shelter, an at-risk youth leadership program, a juvenile mediation program, and a women's foundation. She now works at the state level, for the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, and at the national level, for NAPE. She thanks her mom, who modeled how to talk about race as she told stories to Courtney and her sister about growing up white in the segregated south.

REGISTRATION

Please register for only one session. All sessions will have similar format and discussion questions. Registration for each session will close when it reaches 15. If a session is filled, then you will be prompted to register for another session or to request to be placed on a wait list.

If there is space available, you will receive a confirmation email with instructions for participation.

Before the session, please read Whistling Vivaldi and come prepared for a lively discussion with your colleagues across the country!

(Registration is now closed. The webinars were not archived.)

Check the Archived Past Events page.


News Title

August 22, 2014

26 Percent of Female Scientists Say They've Been Sexually Assaulted Doing Fieldwork

(Read More)

August 14, 2014

For the first time ever, a woman wins mathematics' highest honor

      (Show More Information...)

For the first time in history, a woman has received the highest honor in mathematics, often nicknamed the Nobel Prize of mathematics. Since it was established in 1936, the Fields Medal had gone only to men, until Wednesday, when Maryam Mirzakhani received it in Seoul, South Korea, from the International Mathematical Union. "This is a great honor. I will be happy if it encourages young female scientists and mathematicians," Mirzakhani said, according to a statement from Stanford University, where she is a professor.

(Read More)

August 14, 2014

The International Journal of Gender, Science and Technology has just published its latest issue

(Read More)

August 8, 2014

NAPE is seeking information about programs that improve access to CTE/STEM for girls of color and low-income girls.

      (Show More Information...)

Dear Colleagues,

The Georgetown Law Center on Poverty and Inequality is working with the US Department of Education's Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education to co-host a national conference on marginalized girls' access to career and technical education and STEM in school. In particular, they are interested in how to improve access to CTE/STEM for girls of color and low-income girls.

The Center has reached out to NAPE to partner with them in this effort. We need your help to identify programs that are working with this population of girls, to showcase promising practices, as well as remaining barriers.

The goal of the conference will be to show that girls of color and low-income girls are interested in these fields and have unique needs that require a specific focus, as well as to identify state and federal policy that can help these girls transition successfully into STEM fields.

Please send an email (by August 25, 2014) to Kimber Rutt in our national office with the following information about promising school programs that have been effective in increasing the access and success of low-income girls and girls of color to high quality career and technical education and STEM programs of study.

  • Contact person
  • Email of contact person
  • Telephone number of contact person
  • School/college/university name
  • Address
  • Website link of program, if applicable
  • Brief description of program

Thank you in advance for sharing this information with us!

Mimi Lufkin
CEO
National Alliance for Partnerships in Equity

Check the Archived News page.

Button: NAPE website Button: Professional Development Institute (PDI) logo Button: NAPE 2013 Annual Report Button: Counselor Toolkit Button: Request for Professional Development Button: Root Causes and Strategies Button: Staff Presentations Button: Sign up for Pipeline Press Button: Visit Our YouTube Channel

Materials Use Policy

Disclaimer: Any opinions, findings, and conclusions, or recommendations expressed in the material contained in the resources sections on this website are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the NAPE Education Foundation or projects. Furthermore, inclusion of a product, program, or practice in the NAPE website does not imply its endorsement by the NAPE Education Foundation.